Goats have arrived!

SCROLL DOWN FOR PHOTOS!

The goats have arrived, and I was also able to send him some extra money for a dozen indigenous hens, and extra sewing material.  There is a bit more money left to send. I am currently on the east coast, and I will send the money once I am back home. I want to see how things go with these new chickens, etc.  I may have enough money for him to get one or  two more goats. (The goat shed can fit 10 goats.) People have been generous. THANK YOU!  We will see how it all goes!

In the photo you can see that these are European style dairy goats, as opposed to the small pigmy style African goats. The pigmy goats are good for a source of meat, for those who care to use it that way – but they are not so great for milking.  These dairy goats are made available by the agricultural institute in Kenya. These were highly recommended for milk production.

joy!

Mary

PS –  Here is a series of notes from Rev. Wangai .

Sent: Mon 10/4/2010
To: Mary Kretzmann
Subject: Re: Goats

Dear Rev. Mary,
Receive greetings in Jesus name. I am very sorry for delaying the photos.This is
because the camera man delayed me I don’t have my own camera. I am happy to
inform you that I have the goats at home and have taken two photos with a small
group. The women are very happy. even in the photos as I hand over the goats to
them you can see they are very happy.
I have bought materials and I have ordered and paid a dozen hens as soon as I
get them I will send you photos. We had a great service on Sunday.Receive
greetings from our church members and also from the women with a lot of joy.
Receive greetings from my family,the church and the women.
God bless you so much i love you. Waiting to hear from you soon.
Yours Rev. Wangai

A FEW DAYS PRIOR…

To: Mary Kretzmann
Subject: Re: greetings

Dear Rev. Mary,
Receive greetings in Jesus name. Sorry for delaying in replying this email i was
a little busy.I received the money and I thank you so much. I have gone today
and paid for the goats. so I’m just waiting for the delivery of the goats, once
they are delivered i will take a photo and send it to you. We have bought 8
machines at the moment and 5 are the only ones working in the sewing cloths but
three of them are for training. We don’t have any extra money because the money
we got (FROM SELLING PRODUCTS) we used it for the kid’s school fees.

We are getting tenders but we don’t have materials. About the chicken, the Hybrid
chicken are a bit high because a day old chick is 100 Kenya shillings. The chick
will stay for 5 months for it to start laying eggs which will be very expensive,
I prefer we buy the indigenous hens because they also lay eggs and one goes for
$5 and its only one month to laying. therefore it is not very expensive as the
hybrid one.

God bless you,
I will send you a photo of the goats and the children, and another one with the
goats and the women then send it to you.

Receive greetings from my family, church and all the congregation as i wait to
hear from you soon.

God bless you
Yours Rev. Wangai

AND A FEW DAYS PRIOR TO THAT…

Dear Rev. Mary,
Receive greetings in Jesus name. I am happy to hear from you.Yesterday we had a
good service and all our churches are going on well. The sewing machines are ok,
the ladies are working hard. I wanted to inform you about the goats, they
started from the central Province, right now these sides they are not many here,
they are very rare, only in the agricultural institutions and I would prefer
that grade because it is the best and it is found on that price only
. They can
not change the prize, they are very expensive but very good breed. because its
productive and the products are good as in milk and meat.

We can buy from other small farmers but they cannot be the hybrid I want so we can waste money on a fake breed that’s why I preferred to buy from the agricultural institution.

I don’t want to quote a less amount and end up not buying the goats that will be wrong.

Pass our greetings to your family, the church and all friends.
yours in the Lord
Rev. Wangai.

CLICK DIRECTLY ON PHOTOS TO ENLARGE

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Cralle
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 09:34:22

    What wonderful letters and pictures. God is indeed good, as is Ananda. Much love and many blessings to you. Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

