September update

Excerpt from my recent healing prayer newsletter:

…I have been in touch with Rev. Wangai Rukwaro of Kitale, Kenya. He is the pastor of a Christian congregation, and he has been a member of the Ananda Healing Prayer Council for many years. His ministry cares for 40 widows and their children, who struggle to support themselves as best they can.

A couple of years ago our family sent him money at Christmastime to buy a treadle sewing machine so the women could better support themselves. (Otherwise they did very low paid working like washing..) We were impressed

A couple of years ago our family sent him money at Christmastime to buy a treadle sewing machine so the women could better support themselves. (Otherwise they did very low paid working like washing..) We were impressed that they showed great industriousness.

This summer Rev. Wangai told me about 4 new orphans resulting from the death of one of the widows, and he was hoping somehow I could help find monthly support for the children. (This is a typical method to support such a ministry). However, my “main” ministry is theAnanda Healing Prayer Ministry, and I wasn’t ready to take on such a big new project…

Later that morning, I prayed for guidance on how to help the children. Instantly an inspiration came to my mind. It was so quick, and so fresh an idea, that I took it as an answer to the prayer. I felt the blessings of Paramhansa Yogananda, and the idea was this: Could the widows form a cooperative society together, to help each other with their children in life, and even (God forbid) if some of them should die? It is hard to think about such things, but it is a necessity in any one-parent home, and especially an impoverished one. I wrote and asked Rev. Wangai if they had 10 treadle sewing machines, could the women bring in enough extra money to help even feed these orphans? He said yes, with 10 machines, that would be feasible…

In the next couple of months some friends on the healing prayer council assisted me in getting the number of treadle sewing machines up to the total of eight! This has helped the women very much. They work cooperatively in using the machines, and in healing each other with childcare. And I have been assured that those orphans are now well loved and cared for by some of the older women in the congregation.

Now instead of getting 2 more sewing machines, we have the goal of helping them purchase 2 goats. They have already repaired an old shed that will serve as a goat shed, and can hold up to 10 goats as the herd grows. This will provide milk for the children, and if they have extra, goat milk gets a good price in Kenya as a health food. (If you want to help with this, please write to me at the Ananda address.)


Pastor Wangai (near the window) leading healing prayers

This process has touched my heart deeply. I have been watching it blossom from the other side of the world as a new cooperative spiritual community. They continually send their loving gratitude and their prayers for all who have helped them. It makes such as difference. Pastor Wangai, in honor and appreciation of this, has named the group “Ananda-Kenya Prayer Ministry.”

He has asked me to give them spiritual direction from afar. This sparked my memories of years ago when I myself had a treadle sewing machine – before we had much electricity at Ananda. I had 2 little children and I would sew for much-needed extra income. The sound of the treadle was peaceful, and gave a rhythm to my inner prayers, and practice of the presence of God. It was a very special time.

I asked Pastor Wangai to guide them with a prayer each morning. (The machines are all together in a simple building.) I also suggested that they strive to “pray unceasingly.” They could pray for all of the children – showering them with prayerful love. (For more on all this you can search “Kushona Sisters” to find my blog online…)

He was very happy to share this with them, and they were very inspired by it. I also taught him the “Jesus Prayer Meditation” and asked him to teach it to the women. Nayaswami Kriyananda taught this to a Catholic priest many years ago. It is the hong-sau meditation, but uses the prayer: Lord Jesus Christ (inhalation) have mercy on me (exhalation).

Last week he asked for further instruction and inspiration because he was leading a 3 day prayer seminar. I suggested that he teach them all the Divine Mother healing prayer technique (see previous photo). I also suggested the Prayer of St. Francis, and sent it to him in English and Swahili. It is such a sacred prayer, and will help the women to live a sacred and holy life together in Christ.

Prayer of St. Francis

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen.

Pastor Wangai teaching the St. Francis Prayer

Paramhansa Yogananda wanted to help infuse Christianity with the experience of deep inner communion with God. My heart is touched watching this unfold so far away – but as a new branch of our spiritual family. In any spiritual community, it is important to support the body, mind, and soul, while holding fast to Yogananda’s ideal ofPlain living and high thinking lead to the greatest happiness!”

God bless you all!

Joy!

Mary Kretzmann

Director of Ananda Healing Prayer Ministry

14618 Tyler Foote Road, Nevada City, CA 95959

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rev.Michael Sherbert
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 01:12:47

    What A Beautiful Story Of Our Oneness In God/Divine Mother/ Christ & Guru ! The Praying In Harmony With The Rythem Of The Sewing Machines Is A Wonderful To Infuse Presence,love,Light & Sound Into There Daily Labor,Products,& the Life Of There Community !

    In Divine Communion,Companionship,& Joy !

    Michael+

    Reply

Leave a Reply

