Two more machines soon!

This is a short note to say I have received two donations, and one more is expected today or tomorrow.  These will allow me to present Rev. Wangai with 2 more treadle sewing machines! Thank you to Pat T., Lisa C-J, and to Sheila  N. for your generosity. As you can see from the other posts,  it makes a big difference in the lives of these women and children.

Nicole DeAvilla, another donor, gave me permission to share this paragraph from her recent email to me:

…Recently I have been listening to lectures on CD about early Christianity.  The one I am listening to now is about St. Paul.  The lecturer keeps describing the churches and communities that Paul founded as Intentional Communities.  There is much to muse upon in the ideas of Yogananda about world brotherhood colonies/intentional communities as well as what is happening with Rev. Wangai and the Kushona Sisters…

I quite agree! It has also reminded me of the spirit of community as described in the New Testament.  I don’t have time to develop these thoughts here right now…but please do feel free to add you comments below in the comment field, or send them to me via e-mail.

I’ll send an update soon…

Nicole also suggested that it would be nice if sometime Rev. Wangai could send photos of the uniforms they sew for schools, etc.  I agree. I only ask for photos once in while because he is not the one who owns the camera.  I hope he is not charged for the photos. I’ll ask. It may be a friend of the congregation who does this for him.  But it is very worthwhile because it keeps us inspired, and connected to the project as it develops.

Joy!

Mary Kretzmann

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet Greenwood
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 10:30:56

    Thanks for the update Mary. Any news about progress they are making with the machines is nice to hear. And thanks Nicole for sharing your thoughts.
    Blessings to all. Janet

    Reply

  2. marykretzmann
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 21:13:06

    Thanks Janet!
    I’ll put a new update soon.
    Take care,
    Mary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

